In many developing countries, there is an increased movement of workers from rural areas in to cities. Why do you think this happens? What problems can this cause?

There are an increasing number of migrations from rural to urban areas in most third world nations in search for jobs. This essay will discuss two main causes of this small to the big cities movement, including better work opportunities and improved standard of living. It will also debate the consequences it will have including traffic congestion and increased pollution. There are numerous employment chances in cities. In addition, the quality of life is superior. Most big firms have their head offices and operate their business from developed areas. Also, basic necessities are more organized and highly equipped. For example, there was a mass movement from suburbs to New York City in 1990s in search for higher workforce. For these reasons, this can lead to relocation to big cities from small ones. The Traffic jam is a very important issue. It also causes more garbage in the city. Increased workforce means more vehicles on the roads leading to congestion, especially during rush hours. Great number of people also produce more waste leading to the city looking like cans of trash. To exemplify, Karachi, economic centre of Pakistan has a growing population and result is 40,000 tons of litter daily. This often results in roadblocks and a dirty environment. In conclusion, developing countries are experiencing greater number of migrations from rural areas into cities. This essay discussed two main reasons for immigration being well-paid jobs and upgraded living conditions. It also debated the problems this mass movement causes are twofold: traffic congestion and increased filth.