In some countries it is illegal to reject an applicant based on his or her age. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this approach.

Hiring managers all over the world have a number of factors to consider while recruiting prospective workers. One of the these decisive factors is age, and it has been outlawed in some countries to refuse an applicant just on grounds of age. This essay will discuss the main benefit and drawback of this recent approach. The main advantage of this law is that, it will result in different job sectors having experienced professionals still in active service to bring up newer staffs. In other words, professionals, who have gained experience over the years, can still work efficiently and at the same time coach the young staffs. For instance, the aviation industry employs older pilots, and they serve as the main pilots on planes, coaching the co-pilots at the same time. Consequently, this helps nurture the younger pilots into experience faster. Despite this benefit, a particular worrisome drawback is the problem jobs that are age specific. In essence, some jobs are tailored for a particular age demographic, and in places where this law is in place, in some cases, can lead to catastrophic results. An example of this is in Malta, where there are no age restrictions for unskilled labour, it was discovered that most hotels and restaurants employed under-aged girls as bartenders. This lead to a series of sexual assault and molestation of these young workers as they were not old enough to work in such environment. In conclusion, the main merit of passing a law that allows applicants of all ages is that, it allows for a more experienced training of younger staffs and a major demerit of this, is the unfortunate events that it brings when jobs with age specificity are not monitored. It is my hope, that governments around the world would look critically into these scenarios before passing a law.