Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Although some companies endorse sports as a method of promoting their business. Some people are of the opinion that it is advantageous while others believe that there are problems associated with this. I consider that companies supporting sports, is a good way of gaining publicity. On the one hand, patronizing sports ensures popularity and more patronage in business and I agree. Many companies today are recognized because they sponsor numerous sports. To illustrate, today, Puma and Adidas have taken over numerous sports- outfit companies because of their devoted support for so many football teams all over the world. Therefore, businesses that sponsor sports are widely known and patronized. Secondly, companies gain a high level of trust from the masses when they sponsor sports. A popular energy drink which has been in existence since the 80’s became relevant to me when I saw Usian Bolt a marathon race champion advertise for them. Thus, giving me an assurance in the quality of their product. On the other hand, the problem associated with using sports to communicate about a product to people is that such adverts require huge amount money. It is only a financially balanced company that can embark on such endorsements. To clarify, Pepsi endorses only world’ best footballers for their advertisements, which would definitely cost them a fortune. As a result, such companies will be spending so much in promoting their business. In conclusion, while people vary in their opinion, I think companies stand a better chance to succeed when they support sports companies as a means of publicizing themselves. Although they tend to spend so much by choosing such method of publicity.