Some people say that supermarkets should have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging for products they sell. Others say it is the responsibility of the consumers to avoid such products. Discuss and give your opinion.

It is argued that manufacturers and supermarkets are accountable for less usage of the amount of packaging. Some consider that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. This essay will discuss both viewpoints. On the one hand, it is undeniable that manufacturers and supermarkets are the roots of the problem, since they are prime producers and promoters of customer goods. As a result, by redesigning packaging process, the amount of packaging for goods may be decreased. For example, Take milk bottles, if supermarkets made them thinner or even replaced them with carton bottles, they would have a tremendous impact on the amount of plastic consumed. In supermarkets, for another example, they are able to replace plastic bags, which contain products that customers chose, by paper bags. Hence, the a large amount of plastic bags can be reduced. On the other hand, I think that buyers have an effect on reducing packaging. It is obvious that manufacturers and supermarkets are willing to meet the satisfaction of customers. This leads to that producers and supermarkets will cut down on packaging in the process of making products, if buyers' demand is towards environmentally friendly actions. For instance, today with the spread of environmental protection, in Vinmarts, supermarkets in Vietnam, they are willing discount one percent of the costs of goods, should customers do not use plastic bags. In conclusion, although manufacturers and supermarkets are responsible for reducing the amount of packaging, I believe that customers should carry their weight of the problem.