Obesity is increasing in many developing countries affecting the children. What are some possible reasons for this and suggest possible solutions

It has been observed that there is a dramatic rise in the number of obese children in third world countries. This can be attributed to the involvement in several sedentary activities, lack of sports, and increased consumption of junk food. Solutions have been identified for this problem. To begin, one major cause of this unhealthy state is increased participation of school children in sedentary activities such as watching television and playing video games. These activities increase energy conservation, which eventually results in excessive weight gain. Also, lack of physical exercise is another point to consider. Most elementary and secondary school's curricula do not include exercises, and as such, putting them at risk of gaining weight. Additionally, several fast food stores exist in street corners in these developing countries, with their adverts targeted towards enticing children to purchase them. Furthermore, parents are often working long hours, with inadequate time to make healthy meals for their wards, and thus, leaving them at the mercy of these junk food shops. To illustrate, it was noted in Rwanda, a developing nation, that most school children now ingest foods containing higher quantities of unhealthy oils than they did in the past. However, there are measures that can be taken to combat this menace. Firstly, parents ought to restrict the duration spent by their wards engaging in sedentary acts, while also ensuring that time is set aside to prepare healthy meals. This method, for instance, has been introduced in some developed nations of the world like the United Kingdom, where families are mandated to consume at least five servings of fruits and vegetables daily. Also, academic settings should include at least 30 minutes of aerobics to help children lose weight. The government can also place a ban on adverts focused on these growing leaders. In conclusion, although obesity is an issue with several causes, engaging in sports, healthy living in families, and the government's prohibition of misleading adverts are some ways to curb this growing problem. It is hoped that many people, including children, will focus on living a healthy life.