Many young children have unsupervised access to the internet and are using the internet to socialize with others. This has can lead a number of dangerous situations which can be threatening for children. Which problems do children face when going online without parents supervision? How can these problems be solved?

A lot of young children now have unguided access to the internet and they are using it as a means of meeting other people. The repercussions can pose a dangerous position for kids. The challenges of unguided access to the internet which these kids stand to face involves, being exposed to pornography and dating strangers online. Although, these problems can be solved. On the one hand, unguided access to the internet for kids exposes them to pornography. When a child visits the internet without being monitored, it opens him up to nude pictures and videos which can destroy his mental development at that age. He may pick up vices that are detrimental to his general development. For example, a recent survey in Nigeria showed that the percentage of children who were exposed online without guidance picked up vices, of which pornography was the highest. Secondly, exposure to the internet without control, exposes children to online dating with strangers. Dating a stranger online can lead to loss of life and sexual exploitation. This is capable of putting them in a dangerous position of leaving home without the knowledge of their parents or guidance. To illustrate further, in Chicago, underage girls who were rescued from a house where they were sexual molested stated that they all got to know about their molester via dating sites. In order to curtail these challenges, it is pertinent to have a parental guidance as to the type of websites visited by a child. It is also important to monitor their use of the internet at odd hours of the day. In conclusion, allowing kids to have access to the internet without guidance can expose them to pornography and adult dating. However, these challenges can be curtailed if the child's access online is guided.