The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that the number of obese people is substantially increasing which has been straining the health care system. To counter the issue, people believe that more physical education classes should be added in schools. In my opinion, I completely agree that this is the best way to counter the issue of deteriorating health concerning weight. Firstly, dealing with the issue surrounding obesity and weight problems is best solved by taking a long term approach and introducing more sports and exercise in school. This method will ensure the future generation to be healthier and not have such problems. For instance, an average child does sport twice a week, which is not enough to counteract their sedentary lifestyle. However, by incorporating more sports and fitness classes, they will undoubtedly be fitter and active. Another point to consider is that having more sports for children in school will probably result in children developing an interest which might filter through other members of their family and have a longer effect. In other words, they would develop this as their habit and incorporate their lifestyle in adult life. Moreover, the parents being more involved with the kids would also be impacted by the benefits of increased physical activity. This is certainly a natural and long-lasting way to improve public health. In conclusion, to deal with an increasing population of unfit, overweight people, changing the lifestyle of the coming generation by introducing sports in curricular is the easiest and most effective method used.