Prevention is better than cure’. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree.

A wide number of people would agree that the pain and agony a person has to undergo, while getting treated for the diseases is much more than the challenge he would have faced for taking measures to prevent it. Hence, I completely agree with the statement that the focus should be on investing time and effort on preventive measures. Although, mankind has found the root cause of many deadly diseases and now we know that, certain microscopic beings such as virus and bacteria are the cause of most of the diseases. These diseases spread because of improper hygienic conditions and infections from already infected people. The children are more prone to these infections. Hence, parents and schools should make children aware of these points. But, would giving bland lectures make this interesting for children? Hence, the use of techniques such as gamification of the lectures and digital aids should be encouraged, so that people along with children are able to connect the lectures with their day-to- day lives and get more interested in learning about diseases and their prevention. Furthermore, governments across the world are spending money in educating the citizens with the help of various channels, such as programs on television and radios. The sole purpose of these campaigns is to educate people about the precautions, which they should take and change in habits which one should do, in order to stay healthy and safe from the diseases. Moreover, different product companies also run advertisement campaigns, where video clip shows children washing their hands with soap before eating. These kind of advertisements, motivate the people and help in the development of good habits. To summarize, enough effort of time and money is being put into making people aware of the ways in which they can prevent the diseases to infect them. But it is a responsibility of an individual to take one's own care a motor vehicle with four wheels; usually propelled by an internal combustion engine car. Also, advancement of medical sciences is to such an extent, where we can also envisage the day, when we will be able to alter the genetic make-up of the disease causing organisms, so that they become harmless.