With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree?

With the advancement of science and technology and rapid industrialization, utilization has been on the rise, leading to increase in demand of these commodities. Many believe that new areas of the world should be explored to meet these demands. In my opinion, I disagree because further exploration would not only be expensive, but also the excessive utility of oil and gas is an environmental hazard and instead of wasting money on further oil and gas exploration, other sources of energy should be introduced. Exploration of oil and gas is an extremely expensive procedure which requires investment of millions of dollars by a country and even after this huge investment; output may not be much favourable. To give you an example, the government of Pakistan invested several million dollars on the digging of a new site in the Arabian Sea near Karachi where an oil and gas reserve was expected. But after an effort of several months and spending millions, it was a complete failure with no reserves found at all. Another problem with oil and gas exploration is that it is not an environment friendly source of energy. In other words, excessive consumption of fossil fuels has resulted in a rise in carbon contents and greenhouse effect leading to global warning. Furthermore, the Ozone layer around our atmosphere is being adversely affected leading to exposure of earth to the dangerous ultra-violet radiations which are causing various diseases and cancers to the human beings. I personally believe that because of these adverse effects of fossil fuels, money should be invested in other sources of energy rather than exploring new areas of the world for oil and gas. For instance, the developed countries are now shifting their investments from fossil fuels to other forms of energy like offshore wind farms, development of more energy efficient photovoltaic panels of solar energy and tidal energy of the oceans which are more environmentally friendly and becoming cheaper to use over time. To conclude, I think that new sources of energy should be explored and developed instead of wasting money on the fossil fuel exploration which is both expensive as well as hazardous for the environment.