Most countries spend much money on education as they start to realize the importance of education. In your opinion, which two subjects are the most important for young people and which one is least important. (Subjects : Literature, sports, mathematics, economics, physics, history, music, geography).

There is an ongoing interest in the choice of discipline for young college students. Many countries allocate enormous funds to education as they realize its importance. The question now is which two subjects are the most essential and which one is the least. In my opinion, Physics and Mathematics transcend all other courses while geography is least required in this modern era. I will delineate my reasons in this essay, supported with relevant examples. To begin, one reason I believe Physics and Mathematics are among the most sought-after subjects is that they are focal in the future job market. They are science subjects and scientific innovations have undoubtedly revolutionised most industries like healthcare, engineering and manufacturing. For this reason, when students take them up in school, they are more likely to progress in similar careers as most industries are in high demand for individuals who are specialized in these fields. For example, a recent global study revealed an unprecedented need for skilled tech-savvy such as data analysts, software developers, programmers, engineers etc. Graduates from the aforementioned disciplines will meet the requirements. Conversely, studying geography in this fast-paced world is least desired due to a drastically reduced chance of employment. That is, with the advancement in technology, most job roles requiring human operation have been replaced by AI and automation. Geographers were previously known for their expertise in analyzing maps and locations and even collaborated with meteorologists to help predict weather conditions. Digital apps like Google Maps and Hourly Weather provide accurate directions, map reading and weather forecasts that the global society needs. This has led to the displacement of most workers in this field. For instance, a survey carried out among graduates of the University of Nigeria Nsukka showed that about 80% of geography graduates over the past 5 years, could not pursue a career in this field. This was attributed to the constant decline in employment since the uptake of deep learning features. In conclusion, with a highly competitive job market, I believe it is really beneficial for youths to study sciences like Physics and Mathematics for better job prospects, but also disregard geography as it is experiencing the highest job displacements due to technological innovations.