Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

It is important to consider the economic values of museums in our society. While some collect charges for entry, others do not. I agree that the benefits of imposing fees to allow access into museums outweigh their drawbacks. The reasons for this will be discussed. One of the principal advantages of collecting charges before you can gain entrance into a museum is that the money collected serves as a source of revenue for the government. This is because they are tourist centres and therefore forms part of the economy of a nation. For instance, art galleries serve as exhibition centres where people can visit to look at ancient and modern exhibits. Furthermore, money generated is often used to sustain the centres. To illustrate this point, if the centre is not maintained, it will not be attractive for tourist. One of the main disadvantages of not accepting charges to enter an art gallery is that the place with become overcrowded. As a result, the facility will be stressed and eventually break down. However, this argument is weak because taking levies for admission will ensure that there is enough money, some of which will be set aside for maintaining the place. For example, a certain amount of money will be used regularly to upgrade the facilities. In conclusion, due to the drawbacks of allowing free access to museums such as overcrowding and lack of maintenance due to funds, in my view, I believe the benefits of accepting levies such as improved facilities and sources of revenue for government outweigh the disadvantages.