Many teenagers now have their own smart phone. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this and give your own opinion.

There is an increasing number of adolescents who now possess their own mobile phones. While owning a phone may reduce the eyesight of teenagers, I believe that it will enhance their academic performance. On the one hand, there is a growing number of teenagers who are suffering from eye health issues, mainly because of their phone usage. Young people usually spend most of their day on their phones, which releases harmful rays on the eyes. Therefore, this phenomenon will reflect on them as an ophthalmic disorder, such as nearsightedness or low vision. For example, the WHO has recently reported that 69 per cent of adolescents around the world who suffer from eye problems are mainly caused by long hours on their mobile devices. Nevertheless, I believe that most minors are receiving a limited amount of time specified by their parents, and eventually, there's nothing to be afraid of. On the other hand, it is thought that if juveniles spend a good amount of time on their cell phones, they will do much better in school. It has been shown that teens who use their mobile phones moderately daily are better academically than those who don't. Because they use it to enhance their academic performance through educational apps and academic resources, these methods are not available to their peers who do not use smartphones. For instance, a 2016 Stanford study found that moderate smartphone use (1–2 hours daily) improved teens’ maths and reading through educational apps. I believe that mobiles make youngsters smarter, so they should use them. In conclusion, while mobile phone use among teenagers may cause visual problems, it also enhances their academic performance and contributes to making them smarter.