Some people think the best way to motivate and encourage people to work hard is to pay them based on how much they produce and sell. Do you agree or disagree? Include relevant examples from your own experience

Although it is often thought by some individuals that the best strategy to stimulate people to work more is through compensation which is based on their productivity and sales however, others think otherwise. In my opinion, I agree that payment for work output and marketing is vital as it increases employee's dedication and improves financial outcome for the organisation. Firstly, having a good remuneration system for people based on their product deliverables is one essential way to achieving a motivated team. In other words, when employees are conscious of the fact that they will receive more rewards, this increases their desire to put in extra effort to work. For example, the decision reached with the management of Wenger Plastics to reward staff for exceeding company's quarterly production target, led to the rise in the level of commitment of the workforce which was evident throughout the year. Secondly, setting marketing targets and rewarding employees who achieve or surpass them will indirectly increase a company's profitability. In fact, the rise in production output and trading which is triggered by the company's compensation plan will translate to better financial performance. One vivid example is the aggressive sales of Nigeria's most popular herbal drink called Aso Bitters which achieved a monthly average record of 102% distribution rate making it the most widely sold beverage in the country. Ultimately, this led to the impressive gains for the enterprise. In conclusion, even though there are several ways to motivate people, it is my opinion that the most effective way to achieve this is by output based reward, which drives workforce dedication and enhancement of organisation's profit.