Some people think the best way to motivate and encourage people to work hard is to pay them based on how much they produce and sell. Do you agree or disagree? Include relevant examples from your own experience.

It is being argued by some that paying employees based on the number of goods produced and sold is the ultimate means of inspiring hard work. I disagree this is the best method, owing to the fact that it creates unethical behaviour amongst other things. Salary review, reward and recognition scheme as well as career advancement in my opinion are better ways of propelling employees to work hard. To start with, employees will put in effort to achieve great productivity when they are aware of a career progression plan in place to ensure a long term sustainability rather than instant gratification such as sales bonus. This creates a win-win situation, they will work tirelessly to ensure the business succeeds knowing their development is dependent on it. In addition, having a periodic salary review based on set key performance index will encourage diligence work in anticipation of salary increment. Furthermore, another way to drive efficiency is having a scheme that takes into cognizance employees' welfare, such as healthcare, transportation, insurance plan, annual leave and so on; thus creating a sense of belonging and stimulating diligence. For example, I have a health insurance scheme and I am assured I can access medical services as and when due. Another point to note is that hard work can be triggered by having a reward and recognition program that acknowledges excellence. For example, a 'wall of fame' for outstanding employees will encourage people as everybody loves to be celebrated. In conclusion, admittedly, having payment commensurate to output rate is one path of  influencing hard work, however, I disagree, it is the best approach because it is short termed and results in sharp practises. Hence, futuristic incentive, such as annual remuneration upgrade, reward and recognition and career development are good strategies of motivating and encouraging hard work in a workplace.