Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Transportation is becoming an increasingly important factor of our day to day life. With the growing need for a more convenient means of getting from one place to another, the most prevalent and often used means of transport are that of trains and roads. This is especially true for intercity travel. With this, comes a dilemma of whether to invest more in roads or trains. With both having an equal amount of advantages and disadvantages. I personally believe this decision should be made after taking into account the geographical conditions of a particular area and what the citizens personally prefer. It is understandable if people think a government should invest more in railways than roads. This would actually turn out to be beneficial for more urban and densely populated areas. Transportation of goods will be much easier as it would provide access to more remote parts of the country. A single goods train would be able to transport tonnes of crops, goods or oil. Also, the advantage of having a well established local metro in a city cuts down on the traffic congestion during peak hours. Major metropolitans of the world such as Singapore are very good examples of having a well established metro. On the contrary, roads are a very important investment as well. For rocky and hilly areas, a road is a much safer and cheaper alternative as a train cannot make extremely sharp bends the way a motor vehicle can. In swampy regions, building a railway track would mean unreasonable costs. Taking into consideration the urban train system itself, a train system is not as easily accessible as a road. A train can get you into a particular area, but additional transportation may be required depending on the exact place where you need to go. In conclusion, I think investment on any particular transportation system would require a good survey spanning multiple factors such as a geographical area, personal preference etc. Both roads and rails have their own advantages and disadvantages when it comes down. Both require an equal amount of attention with neither falling short of the other.