Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people think, however, that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these points of view and give your opinion.

There are many factors which contribute to the wellness and value of a country. Although some people argue that financial growth should be the most crucial target for a government, I would argue the upbringing of well-behaved children as the next generation is more important. This essay will explore the arguments behind both scenarios. It is true that wealth and monetary value play an essential role in the improvement of a state. For example, when the government is wealthy and is able to distribute plenty of funds to the various departments, such as Education, it will result in well-developed school environments with excess teaching materials and trained staff. This in turn will result in future citizens being well-educated and having the opportunity to pursue various paths in life and become successful individuals. Eventually, the country will flourish with successful and educated citizens who will be able to maintain and grow the available funds. Although economic growth is an essential aspect of countries with an aim of development, I believe the upbringing of children with ethical awareness should be the most important focus of a state. To illustrate further, in a country where money is easily available if the citizens are spending their money on recreational drugs and alcohol and commit offences such as murder and rape, it is likely that the country as a whole will collapse regardless of how much wealth is available. It is therefore more important to bring up children with a sense of consciousness and ethical awareness instead of solely motivating them to earn more money. In conclusion, regardless of the education and career security that money can buy, it is more important to instil values of what is right and wrong in future generations. Therefore, the ultimate goal of a government should be creating a crime-free state.