Write about the following topic: In many countries, international tourism has become an important source of income. However, it also has negative effects. Do the benefits of international tourism outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Tourism has contributed to the income of many countries. In several countries, international tourism has become a critical source of wealth. While tourism attracts foreign wealth into the country, it also contributes to the overall development of the country. Although it does have some drawbacks, the benefits certainly outweigh the advantages. The main point to be highlighted is how international tourists bring more foreign currency, leading to the rise in economy of the country and thus improving its income. What most countries want is more foreign currency, especially the American Dollar to increase its economic state. All the money that the tourists spend when coming into a country, adds to the wealth of that country, leading to further development of the nation. Moreover, this creates a vicious cycle where more development means more facilities and more tourist-friendly attractions, attracting more travellers and further raising the economy. For instance, Maldives, an island in Asia attracts more than 1 million people a year and their major source of income used for its growth is from tourism. Secondly, It is important to note that money from international tourism, is a leading unavoidable factor that determines the development of a country. Countries with a high number of tourists, attract international companies and brands. Whether it be food, clothing or other industrial companies, they tend to open multiple branches in tourist-prone areas. Opening of these offices, not only gives more job opportunities to people, but it also forces other local companies to compete with them, overall adding to more income of people and hence the country. With new ventures, the overall income rises and leads to more development of the country. For example, Apple opened up 3 stores in Singapore due to it being the country that attracts a lot of technology-loving travellers from around the globe. In conclusion, although international tourism does have some disadvantages like increased pollution, intense use of resources and cultural disputes, the magnitude with which it helps in the growth of a nation should not be omitted and more tourists should definitely be welcomed, increasing the income of a country.