Some people feel that the legal age at which people can marry should be at least 21. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many think that the legal age in which people should marry ought to be 21 years old at the least. In my opinion, I believe that the people should be married legally older than this age as it can affect the individuals and society negatively. A good reason as to why age older than 21 should be the legal age for marriage is that it prepares people to be matured, especially in decision-making. This is because of the fact that many younger adults today tend to decide based from their emotions instantly. For instance, many Canadians aged 21 in the recent years decide to marry and start family, though they are not yet capable of it financially. As a result, many of these married couples incur a lot of debt and end up having a divorce; affecting their families, most significantly their children’s upbringing. Another point to consider in this issue of making age 21 the legal age for marrying is that it brings problems to the society, specifically to its employment rate. Individuals, mostly women, who get married at age of 21, consequently get pregnant immediately and have maternity leave for 2 years of more. This is affecting the workforce of a country, such as the public sectors, because it lessens the number of professionals who can give service to the population. If this happens more, there will be underemployment among nations, declining the productivity in societies, which could lead to further problems in the future. In conclusion, the legal age for people to have marital commitments should be older than 21 if a country wishes to avoid broken families and underemployment in the future.