Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is a wide array of sugary food and drink products in the market that bring about health problems. It is suggested that increasing the price of such products leads to a decrease in their consumption. In my opinion, this notion would be a step in the right direction. It is my view that there are a number of diseases such as diabetes, cardiovascular diseases and obesity which are associated with indulging in the consumption of high-sugar food and drink products on a regular basis. Since most people are oblivious to the consequences of excessive consumption of sugar in their diets, raising the cost of such products may contribute to better health conditions in societies. Furthermore, in some countries, the price of poor nutritional value food is considerably low. For instance, in Iran, people have access to fizzy beverages at lower prices as compared to dairy products (such as yoghurt, milk and cheese). Therefore, individuals are more likely to purchase junk food. In contrast, some people claim that governments are able to tackle this issue in many other ways. They firmly insist that health authorities can raise public awareness about the adverse effects of eating too much sugar. However, I do not find this argument convincing as various health -related programs which are being produced to encourage people to follow a sensible eating plan, encounter failure. People do not care about such advice any more, in that, they are increasingly drawn to the eye-catching advertisements of sugar-based food and drink products. In conclusion, I completely agree with offering high-sugar products at higher prices because it may prevent health problems and people find it hard to buy them.