Increasing car usage in many large global cities has caused a number of problems. Some cities have proposed banning private vehicles from the city centre. To what extent do you agree?

As a result of the challenges associated with the increase in automobiles on the major roads of cities, some believe that the use of personal cars should be restricted from plying these highways. In my opinion, I strongly agree that this ban should take effect sooner rather than later due to problems such as environmental pollution and traffic congestion. Firstly, cars consumes huge amounts of fuel, consequently emitting carbon monoxide, a poisonous, odourless and tasteless gas, which is harmful to humans. When inhaled, it makes people unwell and subsequently leads to death if taken in large quantities. For example, in a movie I saw recently, a man passed out from excess carbon monoxide in his lungs after sleeping off in his garage with his engine running. Furthermore, blaring horns and sounds from exhaust pipes cause sound pollution, which in turn brings about unrest. Another point to consider is that the presence of many private vehicles on roads cause a traffic jam. In recent times, people find that at the end of a tailback, there are no visible causes such as accidents or on-going construction work. Rather, this is often the result of the high density of automobiles especially during rush hours. A study conducted by a professor and his students at the University of Lisbon showed that heavy traffic jam on highways are more often than not the cause of congestion. In addition, the ripple effect of gridlock caused by the increased amount of cars is that people waste their time on the road which reduces productivity at work thereby affecting the economy negatively. In conclusion, the increase in the use of vehicles comes with its setbacks, thus, many municipalities have suggested its ban in the heart of cities. Despite the merits associated with the use of cars, I strongly believe that banning vehicles from main roads in the metropolis will improve the quality of health and safety of individuals which is of utmost importance.