In some countries, the number of people who visit art galleries is declining. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this situation?

Art has always played a vital role in enriching cultures all over the world. However, people are showing less and less interest in art these days. This indeed has some negative impacts, but some measures can be taken to boost people's interest in the crafts. First of all, it is true that art enriches culture, it plays little or no role in improving our lives. For example, one does not have to admire great paintings or marvel at brilliant sculptures to live comfortably. This is not exactly the case with the contributions of science, and technology. Take, for instance, the case of electricity or computers. It is impossible to imagine a life without these technological innovations. Needless to say, people are showing more interest in science than in the arts. Science and business also create more jobs and sustain economies. Furthermore, another reason for the diminishing popularity of art is that it has lost the patronage of governments. During the monarchy, artists enjoyed considerable attention. While governments still support art and artists no special incentive is given to produce masterpieces of art. Turning to a possible solution, Art and culture coexist. One cannot survive without the other. That explains the importance of preserving art. One way of doing this is to make art a viable career option. The government should create jobs in this sector by opening more and more art galleries and organizing exhibitions and cultural programmes. This will encourage more students to pursue art at school and colleges. To conclude, the most effective way to nurture art is to capitalize on its economic potential. The government can do this by creating jobs in this sector.