Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Parents are considered by many to be solely responsible for the upbringing of their children as a responsible individual of society. Others, however, believe that teachers at the school have a role to play in this regard. In my opinion, both parents and teachers have their own duties to educate children to be an asset for the nation. On the one hand, lap of the mother is considered by many to be the first institution for a child. In other words, children learn their initial lessons of life from their parents. So the parents have to become a role model for them, presenting themselves as an efficient member of the community, respecting and following the laws and performing their duties with honesty and dedication. Children are gullible and would imitate their parents in almost all aspects of their early life. A recent survey, for instance, has shown that most children idealize their mother or father to be the best person to follow. Therefore, it is their first and foremost duty to inculcate all the habits in their young charges, essential for them in future to become a responsible personality. On the other hand, many are of the view that children spend a significant part of the day in schools and consider it a place to learn everything. In this era of materialism, when usually both parents are working, they do not find sufficient time to educate them. Teachers, therefore, have to play their part not only in their academic education, but also in their social and moral personality building. Moreover, in schools, children expose their weaknesses in personality when they interact with others and teachers are usually the first one to recognize and rectify those before the parents. Hence, the role of teachers in their character building cannot be ignored. To conclude, I personally believe that both parents and teachers have to play their part and augment each other to make their young ones a productive member of the community.