Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature and history of their own country, rather than the literature and history of other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some people that teaching them the literature and history of their countries is more important than the history of other countries. I partly agree with this view, as I am of the opinion that learning one's culture is as significant as learning the culture of other nations. It is of course vital that children gain knowledge of their people's history. When parents and teachers in school teach young people important aspects of their history and literature, their local heritage is preserved. This means that significant milestones in a nation's past will not be forgotten and their culture can be passed from generation to generation. For example, information about a nation's identity is often embedded in poems and texts written in the past. By teaching children these literatures, they can identify with who they really are. However, learning other countries' culture is also very vital. In recent years the world has moved towards globalisation. In other words, the level of communication and relationship between countries has improved internationally. For instance, nowadays people travel and settle in other countries like Germany, Japan and France. If is young people choose to migrate in the future, it is important that at an early age, they begin to learn about other nation's values. This will make it easier for them to adapt in those countries. Furthermore, by learning the practices and literature of others, children will not see their race as a superior race and accept others as equals. In conclusion, I believe that teaching children the history and values of their countries is equally important as teaching them the cultures of other people.