TODAY MANY CHILDREN SPEND A LOT OF TIME PLAYING COMPUTER GAMES AND LITTLE TIME ON SPORTS. WHY IS IT? IS IT A POSITIVE OR NEGATIVE DEVELOPMENT?

Since the advent of technology, most industries have become dominated by it which has also affected the home front. In recent times, research has shown that a lot of children would rather spend most of their time playing computer games rather than engaging in sport activities. This is due to several factors which will be highlighted in this essay. One major factor responsible for less interest is lack of interpersonal skills amongst youngsters. For instance, in the mid-century, there were often activities organized at schools or social clubs for parents where children are included. This usually allows there to be interactive sessions among the children. However, this is lacking in the present century, therefore, teenagers would rather engage in actions that will not require communicating with others such as online games instead on sports which promotes such. Similarly, due to the perpetual increase in the standard of living, parents mostly work beyond the stipulated working hours while some work two or more jobs to be able to meet up with their family obligations. So, in order to make up for their absence or to display their affection, they purchase these electronic gadgets or other preferred items which enhance anti-social behaviour. This development is definitely a negative one because participating in physical actions such as sports helps in the long run in terms of encouraging fitness and healthy lifestyle as well as cooperative skills which are of utmost importance in the workplace. In conclusion, parents should put checks on their children if video games are a must and encourage more physical and social enterprise. Likewise, educational institutions should include physical education in their curriculum and government should monitor the technologies being imported into the country as the future of the country lies in the coming generations.