Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that government and individuals can tackle this problem

It is a known fact that increasing population in cities around the world has resulted in different issues that must be addressed. These problems and possible solutions, which should involve both the authorities and the society, are discussed in this essay. To begin with, the increasing public presence in the cities has caused a rise in environmental pollution and crime rate. Human wastes namely faeces, urine and food wastes, accumulate from time to time; consequently leading to the increased presence and proliferation of disease causing micro-organisms as well as parasites. These predispose the community to epidemic illnesses such as cholera, malaria, and polio. Furthermore, the high rate of unemployment usually prompts individuals, especially the youth, to get involved in crime such as armed robbery, house burgling, internet fraud and murder, in order to build a good esteem and to survive. The rise in insecurity may scare away investors and slow down the development of the city. Nevertheless, these negative effects can be reduced to a minimal level when the government invests more in basic amenities like water system and power supply, in rural areas; hereby discouraging urban migration in search of these facilities. In addition, the powers that be need to provide more jobs in proportion of the rising population and their effect. A classic example is the employment of sanitation workers to lower environmental degradation. In the same way, the society can assist the appropriate authorities by making more trade investments in their villages. By this, they will be able to empower their relatives without necessarily transporting them to the city for work. To recapitulate, despite the fact that the increased migration of people into the cities are accompanied by drawbacks, the governing councils together with the individuals can help to discourage this trend. If no adequate measures are put in place, it may lead to serious and uncontrollable societal retardation.