Some people think that museums and art galleries should concentrate on the history and art of their own country rather than the works of art of other parts of the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Museums and art galleries have long been at the forefront of preserving and representing cultural values and histories of the nation. Presently, there are two schools of thought on the subject: some believe that they should mainly represent traditional and local cultures and there are others who opine that international collection should be displayed. This essay will discuss why traditional museums should focus on outlining the cultural aspects and artworks of the country while having separate museums with items from other countries. To begin with, the prime role of the museum is to educate the people about the history and tradition of the country. Since it conserves important cultural specimens, artefacts, artwork, and other items which boast our past and help researchers dig deeper into history. For instance, many national museums in Europe solely focus on preserving the artefacts and artwork from the country only and are quite popular among international tourists. So, museums which primarily signify tradition of the country should comprise of things of which we as a nation can be proud of. Having said that, the concept of the museum in the contemporary era has changed to a great extent. There are presently myriad types of museums which include aviation museum, war memorial, motor museums, archaeological museums, and the list goes on. Consequently, the popularity of such museums can only be gained by adding the international collection. For example, the motor museum in Australia has a collection from more than 20 countries and they serve their purpose just fine. Therefore, museums with international compilation often attract tourists and can be a great way to promote tourism. To conclude, museums and art galleries create learning exciting and memorable learning experience. This essay discussed the potential reasons to nurture the national and traditional museum while keeping the international collection to make it more functional and famous.