In many societies, there is a growing emphasis on individualism, with people prioritizing their personal goals and desires over collective interests. Is this is a positive or negative development?

Pursuing your own achievements and wishes above a group vision is a trend we call ‘individualism’, and there is an increase in individuals who start appreciating this way of living. Whether this phenomenon is either positive or negative is questionable. I believe, however, that it could have a positive impact on people’s lives. This essay will extensively outline why this could be a positive occurrence. First of all, people who have a higher rate of personal achievement are generally more satisfied in life. If individuals are able to prioritize personal interests over communal ones, it will lead to a rise in achievements. Each time someone achieves something, there will be a release of endorphins which will make someone happy. As a result, there will be an improvement in your own mental well-being. For example, recent studies from the BBC show that there is a sharp expansion in happiness if people are prioritizing individual growth. Moreover, it is believed that individuals will be able to be more successful in business if they have priorities in their personal development over the ones of their colleagues. This could be due to the fact that they are able to focus on their own goals. As a result, this person is more likely to have a better performance at work which could lead to a high-ranked position. For instance, if someone’s goal is to become the new CEO is paramount, he or she will be more focused on working to get a single position compared to being in a team where they depend on someone else's effort. To conclude, not only “individualism” could lead to a more satisfactory life, but also it could cause humans to have a more successful career. Therefore, I personally believe that a rise in an independent lifestyle could be a positive happening.