In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them. What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home?

International students in Melbourne have started filling 2-bedroom apartments with six or more people because they don’t want a house for such a short stay. This trend is favourable for students since they don’t have to spend their savings on a long-term loan. While they pay their rent, though, they aren’t acquiring any assets. Renting (a) property has some advantages, such as avoiding paying for a mortgage and offering tenants more flexibility; however, it comes with some potential financial issues. On the one hand, taking a flat or house lease comes with multiple benefits. Firstly, tenants can avoid bank loans and only have to pay rent to a landlord either weekly or monthly whereas house owners tend to acquire a bank loan for long term payment. For example, In Colombia many people prefer to rent a place due to the fact that financial entities charge high interests on loans. Secondly, it is becoming increasingly the number of people in some countries who are moving abroad seeking better job opportunities, for this people rent a house is a better deal because can relocate to any places with ease. For example, an IT engineer who lives in an undeveloped country and wants to work overseas could easily live on rent while the job opportunity comes up. On the other hand, living on rent presents some drawbacks. To begin with, In many countries, renting a house or a flat could be extremely expensive, especially in downtown areas. Therefore, although there are places available in the zone, the prices are not affordable for all people. For instance, the rent price of a flat in big cities such as Melbourne and Toronto represents almost 50% of a middle class salary person. In the second place, a property is an asset, thus someone who buys an apartment is building their future, in contrast, people who are living on rent are spending money without get anything in return. To conclude, renting a property comes with some benefits, giving tenants an alternative to acquiring a house and a chance to relocate with ease. However, it also has some inconveniences related to their future finances.