Air transport is increasingly used to transport fruit and vegetables to other countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season. Some people say this is good but others believe the use of air transport for this purpose is not justified. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some countries do not have access to certain fruits and vegetables during a certain time of the year and so decide to import them through air transport. It is thought by some that this means of transportation is justified while others disagree. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain my support for the latter view. On the one hand, people that believe that transporting agricultural produce through air transport argue that it is a fast means of delivering the products. This is particularly important for perishable goods that have very short shelf life. Shipping such products or transporting them by road may get them damaged before getting to their final destination. Although farmers have become inventive on preservation techniques to keep such items, fresh for the desired duration. Also, air travel is considered to be one of the safest means of transportation as there is minimal risk of robbery attack. On the other hand, some people argue that transporting fruits and vegetables by air is unjustified and I agree. Firstly, air haulage is the most expensive means of transporting goods. This additional cost would be transferred to the final consumer and would therefore make them unaffordable for most people. Secondly, Airplanes are known to emit a lot of carbon monoxide to the atmosphere. This not only pollute the air that we breathe in, but also contributes more to the global warming issues that is already being contended with. Lastly, because of the level of turbulence that is sometimes experienced during air travel, perishable goods, like tomatoes, that are not properly packaged might get damaged before being delivered to their final destination. In conclusion, despite the considerably faster time to delivery offered by air transportation, the environmental issues it creates are enormous. Countries that do not have the right soil to support growth of certain fruits should consider scientific ways of overcoming these barriers rather than transporting by air from other regions.