Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In some countries, the crime is increasing at an alarming pace and the number of prisoners has gone to the maximum level. It is argued by many that convicts should be made to do a volunteer job for the community instead of putting them in jail. In my opinion, I agree that people involved in a low level of offence and juveniles should not be put in the custody, instead, they should be given non-custodial sentences, while individuals involved in murders and terrorist activities should be put behind bars. Juveniles and youngsters can prove to be a great asset to the country if made to do charity work like painting the walls, working in a restaurant and planting trees. Such individuals violate laws because of certain situations and they are not born criminals. The society also tends to accept them if they are given some kind of a job instead of just releasing them back in the street. According to the survey, prisoners who are allowed to operate on a voluntary basis seem to learn and understand their mistakes and pledge not to repeat it. Nevertheless, on the contrary, to my previous point, felons involved in activities, such as murder, kidnapping, mass killing or any terrorist operation, should be given severe punishment and locked up. Such captives are a threat to society and tend to repeat the process. These should be assessed by the judicial system and penalized accordingly. To conclude, many individuals think that convicts should be made to do unpaid task instead of putting them in the jail. I believe that prisoners and juveniles involved in minor crimes should be given a chance to work in the community on a charity basis, whereas, individuals engaged in serious offences should be imprisoned and dealt appropriately.