Some people think watching movies is a waste of time. Do you agree or disagree?

Watching films is a popular pastime among all people. Many people believe that the time spent on this activity is wasteful. However, I completely disagree with this view and think that watching films has positive effects on individuals, as they are the reflection of life and a useful instrument to learn foreign languages. First of all, watching movies is a useful tool for the socialization of a person. People who watch films can learn how to behave properly, how to love someone, how to communicate with people, how to make friends, about what life means. All of these elements are the inevitable requirements to socialize people. For example, people can learn how to love someone, and how to behave different gender by watching romantic films and by imitating fictional characters. That’s why films play an important role in the socialization process. Secondly, watching films regularly is an effective way to learn different languages. It has known that watching movies in a particular foreign language, either with a subtitle or without it, helps people, who want to learn a target language, to improve English skills such as learning grammar rules, memorising new words, improving listening and understanding many daily conversations. For instance, it has been scientifically proved that watching a film per day contributes to improving the listening skills of English learners. Therefore, watching a movie is a practical language learning way as long as it is watched in the target language. In conclusion, movies contribute to people's lives. However, some people believe that watching a film is a time-wasting activity. On the contrast, I fully believe that this activity has remarkable advantages to individuals because it is both an important socialization tool and a great way of learning languages.