The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of modern life style. what are the advantages of this trend. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages.

Many people believe that in this era of extremely fast life, the food which is readily available and ready-to-eat is really helpful to cope up with time constraints. In my opinion, albeit such food do offer some advantage in terms of convenience of cooking and time management, the health-related detrimental effects outweigh any benefits it offers. On the one hand, many argue that ready-made meals like fast food and partially cooked, frozen foods are time saving for the working class. To put it another way, time is really important in this competitive business environment and those who have to work days and nights would find it extremely convenient to order fast food online or on the telephone. For instance, students and those working at night-shifts can easily order the food of their choice due to its 24/7 availability. Similarly, another advantage it offers is the ease in which some of these can be prepared. One does not require expert cooking skills to cook it. Most of these, like noodles and soups, simply require boiling in hot water with some additives given with the package to get it ready. On the other hand, the health hazards of such diet are extremely dangerous for those who consume it routinely. Firstly, the preserved food has very poor nutritional value as most of the essential vitamins and minerals would be denatured and lost during the preservation process. Secondly, the preservatives added to such foods are proven carcinogens and has been implicated in the rise in frequency of various cancers in humans. Finally, these foods are very rich in fat and refined sugar and have contributed significantly to the rise in incidence of obesity, diabetes and ischaemic heart disease. To conclude, admittedly there are some minor benefits of convenience food, yet its poor nutritional value and contribution to the rise in frequency of diseases like cancers, obesity, and diabetes is beyond question and outweigh the advantages. I, therefore, recommend a reduction in consumption of such foods as much as possible