Scientists agree that people are harming their health by eating too much fat food. Some people think that the solution to this problem is to make people aware of the problems. Others think education will not work. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Obesity and health issues have become very common these days due to the regular consumption of junk food by many people, even scientists agree to this fact. Some argue that conducting awareness campaigns by the government can help to overcome this problem, however others believe that it will not be of much help. In my opinion, creating awareness is crucial, but that alone cannot bring in the change, imposing strict law to clamp down the junk food will help. On the one hand, most people lead a hectic life these days, due to the current economic situation and to keep up their living standards. Both men and women population are going for a job, therefore they really don’t find enough time to prepare healthy and balanced diet at home. So they tend to buy more food outside, for them, fast food is a quick and affordable option. Though they knew that it is not a healthy option, they go for it just because it’s convenient for them. Educating these sort of people will be of no help. Instead, we should create more opportunities to buy a healthy food for a cheaper rate. For example, in our state, our Chief Minister opened a chain of restaurants called “Amma restaurant”, which sells all healthy south Indian food for a very minimal cost, similar restaurants should be opened across the state for the ease of people. On the other hand, some people are eating fat foods unknowingly, without the awareness about the ingredients used to prepare them. Restaurants and cake shops are using many cancer causing agents for improvising a catchy colour in their items, just to attract children and grown ups. Awareness should be created in these cases via Television programmes, social media etc. For instance, a famous doctor named Shivaram was sharing his research results in various forums regarding the cancer causing agents that are added in “Parotta” to provide the required fluffiness. After hearing this many people have changed their mindset to avoid eating that particular food from their menu. Furthermore, the government should impose laws to control the sale of junk food in various places, including roadside shops, also severe punishment should be announced if they use banned ingredients in the preparation of food products and eatables. In conclusion, it is high time to take necessary measures to bring back the population towards a healthy lifestyle. It’s going to be very dangerous for the younger generation, if the current situation continues this way.