Some people think that books should be stopped in schools and that videos, films, and computers should be used instead. To what extent do you agree?

There is a division is some certain quarters about the best educational tool for learners in school. While it is thought by some that the traditional books and textbooks should be phased-out, others think that more innovative approaches such as videos and computers should be adapted for use. In my opinion, I completely disagree that the usage of books should be ousted out for a number of reasons. To begin with, books are more cost-effective than computers. In other words, the amount of money that would be required to purchase books for students is cheaper compared to the use of these technical tools. In a situation where the folks of a child cannot afford these expensive gadgets, this leaves the child at a loss, especially after school hours when further training should be continued in their respective homes. For example, in Nigeria, children writing books in school costs around #10000 and a computer cost ten times more. This is way higher than most worker's wages in Nigeria and buttresses the fact that books are more affordable. Furthermore, books must remain because they are unaffected by the limitations of technology. One shortcoming of the use of technical tools includes problems like power outage and lack of internet access. This type of issues does not come up when books are used for training a child in school, therefore, this makes it highly necessary that they remain the primary means of teaching a learner in school. For example, in Nigeria, where power supply is erratic, the use of computers in training children is quite limiting. In conclusion, the use of books in the classroom cannot be stopped because they are cheap and not likely to be affected by technical failures. In my opinion, I believe that its continued use is, however, necessary in order to ensure optimum performance of school learners.