Some people think that children who spend a lot of time reading storybooks are wasting their time which could be better used doing other more useful activities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With a thriving awareness of children's development, parents nowadays have more choices for their kids to make in their childhood. Although some folks suggest that reading storybooks are less practical for children to learn than cultivating their other talents, I consider that the positive effects reading brings outweigh the negative ones. To some people, storybooks are regarded as useless for children because they contain limited knowledge. Usually, storybooks are written with simple, easy-understanding sentences and illustrations. Thus, some parents might think they have fewer similarities in their kid's developmental intelligence. In addition, more people decide to cultivate their children with other useful activities, so that they can be versatile. For instance, many children start to learn music, such as playing the piano, at a very young age because their family members believe it is a great activity to achieve. However, storybooks are actually excellent sources for children to learn. First, it helps kids to organize their ideas. Using simple words to make stories doesn't mean they lack content; instead, those stories are suitable for kids to comprehend some thoughts and understand some expressions. Also, illustrations in books can stimulate children's imagination. What's more, children can learn how to organize ideas by words. For example, a study shows that some children find it difficult to learn new things because they spend too much time on electronic devices instead of books. To conclude, every activity may have in great influence on a child's development. Nevertheless, reading storybooks can improve not only the expression but also the comprehension of children. It is clear that reading storybooks is definitely not a time-wasting stuff but a successful method to educate kids.