Some people think that modern technology is making people more sociable, while others think it is making them less sociable. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In over the past couple of decades, innovation has drastically changed the way we socialize as humans. Some people believe that this has improved our ability to interact but others disagree. In my opinion, while the development of some electronic devices, when put to proper use, can be very helpful in interacting, it can actually make us less willing to relate with others. People who believe recent technological advancement has improved social skills argue that it has made the world a global village. This makes it possible for friends and families at the extreme spectrum of the world to communicate with each other. It has basically taken away the physical barrier that might be created as a result of geographical location. For instance, I was able to talk to my wife via video calls while I was in a foreign country on an official assignment. This would not have been possible without the help of a smartphone that had the capabilities to connect us. Conversely, the advent of mobile phones and other gadgets has some people, especially youths, detached from their immediate society. This is because they tend to spend so much time on their phones going through entertaining content on social media. In fact, it is almost becoming an epidemic and addiction amongst young people. Most of them struggle to maintain a conversion with their peers when they are at social gatherings and would rather just press their phones. In conclusion, although computers have made communication over long distance very easy, I am of the view that their development as a whole has been detrimental to our social skills.