When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is argued by some that advances in technology results in the loss of a nation's tradition and culture. Therefore, preserving them is a waste of time. However, I believe that recent technological developments have helped to keep several countries history and culture alive. There are two main reasons why some people might think that computers contribute to the loss of their way of life. One reason is that, young people do not read old books and poems of their countries anymore, but prefer using social media and chatting on their phones. Also, the introduction of online platforms such as Facebook and Whatssap has made people have lesser person to person conversations. This has lead to the loss of interpersonal relationships which is vital for sustenance of culture. Because the above trends cannot be controlled, some people feel its pointless keeping traditions alive. However, I am of the opinion that technology helps to sustain and beautifies our tradition and history. Regarding the reading of historical texts, these books can now be stored on the internet and clouds, thus preserving the texts for life. In addition, I believe that social media platforms has increased the level of our communication and given us an opportunity to learn more about our culture. For example, on Facebook we can receive suggestions to be friends with whom we share common interests. This gives people a chance to easily blend and discuss their traditions better. In conclusion, although some people believe that developments in technology has replaced our traditional way of life and it is pointless to sustain our culture, I am of the opinion that computers has helped to preserve our culture and boost our traditions better.