The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There is an ongoing debate about the true role nuclear weapons play in keeping the peace. Some people argue that nuclear power is eco-friendly and safe for the environment. I completely disagree with this statement and believe that the disadvantages outweigh the benefits of nuclear technology. There are several reasons why nuclear weapons are not effective in maintaining world peace. Firstly, some dictators use the threat of nuclear weapons to antagonise and threaten smaller countries to do their bidding. For instance, in North Korea, the leader has warned South Korea not to meddle with their national affairs otherwise they would launch nuclear rockets. This is a prime example of a country using bullying tactics to harm those with lesser military capabilities. Secondly, only a few countries have access to such dangerous weapons. This would mean that only select countries are the ones playing with people’s lives. So instead of keeping the peace, the opposite can happen. It is argued by some that nuclear power does not provide cheap or clean air. They argue that it only leads to environmental disasters and health problems. This is because of the several nuclear incidents that have happened over the past 100 years. For instance, in Ukraine and Japan, there have been two well-known accidents involving nuclear technology. The disaster resulted in various health complications such as blood cancer, asthma and autoimmune diseases as well as pollution and dirty air. Hence, the role of nuclear power in being eco-friendly is debatable. To conclude, I believe that the drawbacks of nuclear technology are far greater than any advantages due to the multiple health issues and environmental problems associated with its existence. Furthermore, the idea that nuclear weapons maintain world peace is laughable.