Many sports players advertise sports-related products. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

There is no iota of doubt that, a number of well-known players are doing different types of product advertisements. This phenomenon is offering multifarious benefits to the players. However, sometimes a couple of problems emerge due to the same. In this essay, we will throw some light on the advantages and disadvantages of this trend. To begin with the bright side of endorsements by sports persons. Firstly, players can promote certain products in a better way because they themselves use some of these items in their line of work. For example, Lionel Messi does the advertisement of an energy drink, which he consumes while playing the game. Because of this reason, his endorsement of the product sounds genuine. Secondly, players can make money by doing various types of advertisements. In general, advertisement companies give approximately 5-10 million dollars to the players who work for them. This is a great opportunity for them to convert their popularity and brand value into wealth. On the flip side of the coin, there are a handful of nasty consequences of endorsements as well. Primarily, this could take away the players’ focus of the game. For instance, last year, Sakib al Hasan, a renowned Bangladeshi cricketer, was not able to perform as expected in the Asian Cup. As a result, some people assert that this happened because he was featured in myriads of advertisements at that time, which took his concentration away from the match. Furthermore, athletes could become a money minded if they do a lot of advertisement campaigns. The result of this could be devastating for the players and ruin their game play. In conclusion, there is no doubt that popular players are advertising several products and this phenomenon has some obvious drawbacks and benefits which are given in the above paragraphs. All in all, it is up to the players to decide whether or not they should do these types of advertisements.