The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the world is at a great risk with proliferation of environmental pollution. Some people are considering that increment of fuel cost will reduce these environmental issues. I agreed with this statement up to a certain extent, however, there are many other ways to deal with this issue instead of looking at only one aspect of the problem. Following essay will discuss both sides of it in detail. To begin with, currently number of vehicles are rapidly growing, this situation can be controlled by increasing gas prices. People will be more cautious of usage their vehicles due to the high costs, hence it will help greatly to decline the air pollution as well as the heavy traffic congestions. For instance, people will start to walk or use public transportation methods to travel short distances instead of spending a fortune on fuel. On the other hand, there are plenty of other methods to maintain quality of the environment. Firstly, relevant authorities should take necessary actions to improve infrastructure and public transportation, such as developing better roads, improve timetables of buses and trains to operate on time so people will encourage to use them than their own vehicles. Secondly, impose high taxes for personal vehicles. For example, people in Singapore hardly can own their own vehicle due to very high taxes, but their public transportation standards are in good condition so no one is complaining about not owning a vehicle. In conclusion, environmental issues can be controlled up to a certain limit by increasing cost of fuel. Therefore, it's necessary that the authorities should take initiatives of action latter mentioned so overall it will help to overcome these problems.