Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not on learning practical skills Do you agree or disagree?

The education system has changed over the last 50 years. There are opinions that, in schools and colleges, too much importance being given to teach theory based subjects while giving minimum priority for practical sessions. I completely agree with this view. The current academic structure doesn't promote the practical knowledge. In the recent times, the administrative authorities in schools and colleges take lab sessions for granted and show minimal interest in bringing the advanced tools and equipments to the laboratory. In addition, laboratory subjects are allocated with minimum time slot to finish all the experiments when compared to other topics. To illustrate, according to a survey conducted by a news channel, 90 percentage of engineering colleges' workshop's are not just dependent on 20th century scientific machines but also without a qualified instructor to guide the students. Obviously, these developments would not encourage any learner to focus on gaining the experimental ideas. However, a total contradicting behaviour could be seen in the government as well the universities when it comes to propagating the idea of theory based learning in the academics. In primary schools, children's are asked to memorise the poems, mathematical formulae, and name of the dynasty and so on. In colleges, graduates are encouraged to deduce the complex derivations without a single error. But a similar guidance to carry out the experiments with 100 percent accuracy is being missed. Admittedly, these trends have made the learners willingly or unwillingly to concentrate more on the fact based learning. To conclude, today's curriculum has totally become a theory oriented. There is hardly any sign of an impetus given by the government to promote the students to engage themselves in workshops.