Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries.Do you agree or disagree

Learning literature is an indispensable part of academic life of children. There is always a debate, whether education about these written works of native place or another must be imparted to a child. According to my opinion, teaching local history is a necessity and values more as it aims to provide individuality to a person. To begin with, literature aids an individual to know about the history of his respective region. We cannot live if we do not have any information about the ancestors of our family.For an instance, an orphan living in my society is always bullied by his companions as he knows nothing about his forefathers. Similarly, Without knowing about our roots, we cannot enjoy life to the fullest.For an example, being an Indian, I must have knowledge about the freedom fighters and their struggle to get independence. This information is only imparted through textbooks in schools, to exemplify, NCERT books are there. If we want our children to know about their existence, we need to teach them local history right from childhood. Conversely, research regarding other countries customs and traditions is important if one wants to study or migrate there. Last year, my cousin visited Vietnam, this country was extremely new for him in terms of language, values and culture. Initially, he felt isolated and alienated, but after reading books about that, he was able to lead a prosperous life there. Therefore, knowledge of the foreign nation's literary works is valuable if one wants to settle there. To conclude, local research is valuable as it is associated with one's identity. But we cannot deny the fact that education about other cultures is needed if we want to move there. Hence, it is mandatory for children to learn it in schools and I completely agree that emphasis must be laid on it rather than foreign literary works.