A REPORT INDICATED THAT MANY CHILDREN BETWEEN 7 AND 11 SPEND TOO MUCH TIME WATCHING TELEVISION AND / OR PLAY VIDEO GAMES. HOW DOES THE PROBLEM AFFECT THE CHILDREN? WHAT MEASURES CAN BE TAKEN TO CONTROL IT?

Some scientists would argue that several children between the ages of 7 and 11 spend their free time playing video games. This problem could affect children's health mentally or physically, and the most viable solution to this issue is to launch a publicity campaign warning families and youngsters about the consequences of playing video games for many hours daily. Children who spend lots of time using technological devices such as PlayStation and Xbox could experience poor health. Young people could feel depressed if they play video games frequently, and do not do outdoor activities like football or swimming, because children will repeat the same routine daily. Additionally, the addictive usage of electronic devices in general could contribute to obesity and heart problems because people often eat unhealthy food while playing. To illustrate, a survey conducted at a university in Atlanta, asking a group of overweight students, revealed that 55% of obesity cases are from limited movement and an unhealthy diet, which comes from playing video games a lot. To tackle this problem, governments should implement a public campaign in schools and the media, educating people about the dangers of video games to teenagers. Schools can interview children who are overweight and ask them how much time they spend playing online games to convince people to reduce it. Moreover, when a child gains lots of support in these activities, this will benefit them in the future to become healthier and smarter than others. Hence, volunteers in the campaign can assist the child's family to help replace leisure time with healthier activities like chess and sports, which increases their fitness and intelligence levels in the long term. To conclude, playing video games frequently could cause children's health problems; however, it could be addressed through a campaign that could shed some light on the dangers that might occur and help young people replace it with healthier habits