Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in countryside? What problems does this cause? What can be done to solve this problem?

Urban life has attracted many young people from rural areas over recent years. Today, a number of young individuals are moving from rural to urban in order to live. As a result of this, elderly people are continuing to live in rural places. This trend causes some problems such as overpopulation in cities and towns and a decrease in the productivity of agriculture. However, the government can solve these problems by investing in agriculture and facilities in the countryside. Living in urban areas is thought that it offers a variety of job opportunities and this result in the fact that young people, who live in rural places, lead to move to cities and towns. However, there are some problems which the trend creates. Firstly, overpopulation is a major concern for many cities due to the loss of attraction of the countryside. For instance, in Turkey, the number of people living in urban places has dramatically increased since 1990s. Secondly, the fact that rural places, where is the most important area to produce food, lost their popularity result in a decrease in the agricultural production. The reason is that rural people moved to cities and towns to have a higher life standard. Despite some problems, there are some solutions which the government can implement. Creating job opportunities in rural areas would be the most effective solution. For example, the government can build factories in those places so that young people work in the industry. In addition, the administrators can promote agriculture among youngsters. To illustrate, young people enjoy food production and live in the countryside if the government financially supports them, and introduce modern agricultural methods. In conclusion, rural life has gradually lost its popularity over a period of three decades. Youth prefer to live in cities and towns due to attractive opportunities and the trend is resulting in the overpopulation as a problem, and also the demise of agriculture. However, the government can address these problems related to population and agriculture by investing in rural areas young people to have a desire for rural life.