In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In many countries, namely the United Kingdom, when a person reaches superannuation, he often lives in old age homes. For their survival, government has to provide monetary help. According to my opinion, these expenses must be bored by both the family and the higher authorities of the nations. To begin with, when people become older, their children start neglecting them as they consider their parent's burden on themselves. Therefore, older people have no choice but to live in old age homes where they are accompanied by their companions of almost the same age. At this phase of life, body is prone to certain ailments, such as, diabetes, heart problems. It is the moral duty of their offsprings to spend money on their healthcare. For an instance, my friend's grandmother is a cancer patient, she is living in an elder hostel. Her son is taking care of her by providing financial support as her treatment is quite expensive. Contrary to this, it is the people or the citizens of the country that decide the bureaucracy by giving their precious votes. Hence, it is the duty of government to provide comfortable and prosperous life to the public. Elderly people contribute an ample percentage of the whole population, as a result, their rights must be protected and this must be ensured by the bureaucrats. To exemplify, the Canadian Government is spending huge amount of money for the welfare of elders and senior citizens and the result is this country is possessing a good rank in terms of Global parameters that define quality of life. To conclude, it is necessary for both the wards of the elderly people and the government of the nation to take care of them as senior citizens are an indispensable part of a family as well as the country.