Government should spend more money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that railways need to be more prioritized in terms of development rather that roads. I totally agree with this statement because trains are proven to be more faster and environmentally friendly. Investing extra funds for the extension of railways contributes a lot in terms of saving time and money from the public. This is because a single train can commute enormous amount of people and good in a short period of time. Therefore, people will spend less time on transportation and can focus more on doing productive work for themselves and well as the society. Citizens of a nation can also travel long distances multiple times faster than cars by just paying little amount of fees. For instance, the British government spends 80% of its infrastructure funds on maintaining their country railways so that people won't have to face long waiting hours for commuting. Similarly, trains are proven to be less harmful to the environment when compared with cars. Trains today uses fewer internal combustion engines, thus reducing the potential of carbon emission. In terms of cars which emits pollution and toxic gases, the train seem more productive, thus deserves development to a greater extent. For example, 50 countries are participating in the program organized by the UN in order to open underground metro service which will cut the usage of cars and bikes. In conclusion, a nation should divert funds towards railway construction as much as possible and specialize less on roads as this aids a country to improve commuting time and achieve a healthy environment.