In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the current generation, reading e-books has become a popular trend instead of paper books. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of both and portrays how e-books overcome text books. There are several benefits of reading e-books, firstly, it is more convenient to use, as there is less overhead of carrying them regardless of amount of content. Whereas, the paper books are difficult to carry, while the weight increases as the number of pages increases. In addition, e-books are easier to transfer. Transferring a document to others happens in a matter of seconds. For instance, When a book wants to be shared with a friend, a copy of the e-book can be sent to him rather than handing over the physical book to him. Thus, e-books are flexible and easy to handle. However, on the other hand, paper books do not affect the eyes, as it will not emit any light from it. In good lighting conditions, the book can be read without any harm. Moreover the paper books can be recycled or exchanged after efficient use of it. Although, usage of paper has few advantages, it undergoes a large amount of deforestation. Which affects the environment. To conclude, the advantages of e-books far outweigh the drawbacks of it, with some aspects being considered like convenience, availability and ease of sharing. However, paper books have a negative impact on the environment.