Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree ? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Health of citizens is one of the driving factors of progress and an indication of future prospects of a country. As it is mandatory to take care of the health of the public, I agree that, government needs to provide some of the health services free of cost although it may not be feasible to provide expensive treatments. The core reasons are as follows. Firstly, every person cannot afford health services due to their financial status. Thereby, their health impacts their profession and indirectly the prospects of the nation. To mitigate this, administration can initiate a scheme to provide consultation and diagnosis for the people below poverty line free of charge. For instance, in our hometown, " health cards" are being issued to low and middle class people, which is benefiting public immensely. Moreover, the public got awareness about health and they are organizing campaigns for blood and eye donation for the needy humankind. Secondly, the hospitals are not near to the villages, which makes people travel long distances, therefore spending a significant portion of their money for travel. To reduce the overall expenditure, the government can either provide free services in hospitals or basic consultation and medication by transporting to villages. To exemplify, the government organized a program called "mobile clinic" to cater to the needs of villagers in a cost effective manner. On the other hand, supplying the advanced medical equipment or services is virtually impossible for regime as there are no surplus funds in the treasury. To conclude, the government needs to provide the free health services in all parts of the country, even though they have to restrict the usage of advanced equipment to areas where the public can afford.