There are fewer controls over the designs and construction of home and office buildings. So , people can build them however they like. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the years, there has been a reduction in laws and regulations guarding the building of houses and office structures. Consequently, the public is now constructing structures haphazardly. In my opinion, the disadvantage such as its lack of safety outweighs any minor benefit it might possess. Admittedly, one basic upside of having less restrictions regarding housing and office building structures is that it avails the builder an opportunity to build without limits. In other words, the owner of the house can build whatever layout or design he or she desires and even anywhere he wants without any worry about breaking any rules. For example, ever since the Lagos State Government took down the laws against building storey buildings in riverine of or relating to or located on the banks of a river or stream riparian areas, there has been a noticeable increase in such structures all over Lagos. Also, another advantage of such laxity is that individuals will not bother to get quality materials for the construction of such houses and at the end this will be cheaper for the owner. Nevertheless, despite these advantages above, I believe that there are some serious drawbacks to building houses and offices however one desires. Firstly, the tendency of using obsolete and substandard materials increases. This ultimately results in the construction of houses that cannot stand the test of time and this might cause tremendous problems in the future. To illustrate, in 2015, there was a recent collapse of the Badagry High School in Lagos as a result of using below par materials. The collapse of this building led to the loss of many lives. Secondly, another drawback is that these structures might be built in such a way that it obstructs flow of traffic. This could be detrimental as it could result in traffic connections, thus, causing unnecessary delays. In conclusion, while less laws might give house owners a chance to build without any barriers, the drawbacks such as traffic congestion and loss of lives outweigh any of the acclaimed benefits it might have.