More children in developed countries are becoming overweight. This is a serious problem for wealthy countries. Discuss some causes and effects of this problem. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Obesity among children are increasing in wealthy nations causing serious issues for wealthy countries. In this essay, we will look into the reason for this overweight issue and the impact this will have on the country. There are several causes for obesity among younger generations. Firstly, eating habit is one of the main contributors to this epidemic. Research shows that soda, which is popular among children has very high amount of sugar and fast food such as burger, pizza, fries are high in fat and sodium all this contributes to overweight in people consuming it. For example, most of the restaurants offer free soda as part of the meal, even though the person is not interested they are made available to them. Secondly, lack of physical activities plays a major role in children being obese. The amount of physical activity among children in school and after school is getting reduced. This is due to parents and schools focusing on children’s education than on physical activity and health. Lastly, technology also contributes to this cause. With the introduction of social media, video and mobile games children are addicted and physical and outdoor activities are greatly reduced. This causes several impacts on the country. Health among younger generation deteriorates and results in week workforce for the coming generation. The country could lose the edge it has in the development, business and workforce. Medical cost would increase for the next generation and would result in higher tax and treatment expenses. For instance, obesity would result in other health issues, thereby increasing the medical expenses for the children. Competing in sports, military and space programs demand the participant to be physically healthy and fit. In Conclusion, Since overweight among children affects not only them, but the development of the country. It has to be treated as a disease and should be addressed in a timely manner to stop it from spreading.